Desperate Bicycles United Kingdom


The Desperate Bicycles were an English punk group. The band formed in 1977 in London as an experiment in the economics of punk's DIY methodology. Dave Papworth (drums), Nicky Stephens (keyboards), Roger Stephens (bass), and Danny Wigley (vocals) wanted to see how cheaply they could record and release music. The result was the "Smokescreen" 7", released in an edition of 500 on their newly formed Refill label, costing them £153. The single was repressed in an edition of 1000 and sold out in a fortnight.

Popular Songs